LWVT Board of Directors 2018-2019


Teri Cleeland, President, Membership Chair

My life and career have led me to many different places and experiences. I grew up in a civic-minded family in the Mid-Atlantic states but was drawn to the west from an early age.  I went to Arizona for college and became an archeologist and historian, working for the Navajo Nation, National Park Service, and US Forest Service, where I spent most of my career.

I had assignments all over the country, from the Grand Canyon to Washington State, Mississippi, Alabama, and Pennsylvania working in leadership positions as well as in emergency response (fire, tornadoes, and hurricanes). I was a legislative specialist in Washington DC for 8 years. My reward was a posting to Tallahassee in 2009 as the Deputy Supervisor of the National Forests in Florida, where I learned so much about the beautiful lands and waters of our state. I got to retire in 2013 after a wonderful career in public service.

My husband Larry Lesko also retired from the US Forest Service and is a Master Gardner.  Our son Jesse lives with his wife Bonnie in Pittsburgh, and I love having my sister and her family here in Tallahassee. When not volunteering, we enjoy hiking, yoga, attending shows and concerts, and travel near and far.  Teri has been a League board member since 2014.


Sally Butzin, Vice-President

Dr. Butzin is the founding President and Executive Director of the Institute for School Innovation in Tallahassee, Florida. She has been an educator and child advocate for over six decades.  She was a classroom teacher in several elementary schools, including the Florida State University Developmental Research School. In 2008 she was named “Distinguished Educator” by the Florida State University College of Education.

Dr. Butzin has published widely in educational and technology journals. She is the author of Joyful Classrooms in an Age of Accountability: The Project CHILD recipe for success (Phi Delta Kappa, 2005). Her most recent book is Creating Joyful Classrooms: A positive response to testing and accountability in the elementary school (Rowman & Littlefield, 2018). Sally and her daughter Charlotte Butzin Beal are co-authors of Best Buddies Birthdays: The complete guide for homegrown parties for ages 5-10 (Archway Publishing, 2015).

Now retired, Dr. Butzin has remained active in civic and education volunteer work, frequently featured as an opinion writer in The Tallahassee Democrat newspaper. She is past Chair of the Board of Trustees for the International Alliance for Invitational Education. She was appointed by the mayor to serve on the Tallahassee Parks and Recreation Advisory Board and the Tallahassee/Leon County Canopy Roads Citizen Advisory Committee. In 2013 she completed a term as commissioner on the Tallahassee/Leon County Status of Women and Girls Commission. Currently she serves as Vice President of the Tallahassee Chapter of the League of Women Voters, as well as a member of the Board of Stewards of the United Church in Tallahassee.

In her free time, Dr. Butzin enjoys golf, theater, music and travelling worldwide with her husband Peter. They have two daughters, Charlotte Butzin Beal and Jessica Butzin O’Reilly, and four grandchildren.


Carol Weissert, Secretary

Carol is LeRoy Collins Eminent Scholar and Professor of Political Science at Florida State University. She also serves as director of the LeRoy Collins Institute, a statewide policy organization located at FSU that studies and promotes creative solutions to key private and public issues facing Florida and the nation.  She has published over four dozen articles in political science, public administration and public policy journals and is the author or co-author of four books including Governing Health: The Politics of Health Policy. Prior to coming to Tallahassee in August 2003, she was professor of political science and director of the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research at Michigan State University. Carol served as editor of: Publius: The Journal of Federalism, an international journal on federalism and intergovernmental relations for ten years. She is a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA), chartered by Congress in 1984 to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable and transparent organizations. In 2016 she was the Fulbright Distinguished Chair in American Political Science  in Australia. Her doctorate in political science is from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.


Peggy Ball, Treasurer


Margaret Boeth (E 2018-20)

Voter Services Chair



Liz Holifield (E 2018-20)

Sabrina Hartley (E 2018-20)

Joan Kanan (E 2017-19)

Sandra Kendall (E 2017-19)

Erin Edwards (E 2017-19)   Webmaster

Steve Urse (A)

Phelicia Stiell (A)

Cruise Picture.JPG

Trish Neely (A)

Trish Neely is the former Chief Compliance Officer, Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary for FBMC Benefits Management, a large independent insurance broker and benefits manager domiciled in Tallahassee, Florida. She retired in 2017 after a memorable 30-year career in varied management and executive leadership positions and currently works as a consultant. She holds insurance licenses through the States of Florida and California, an industry certification in Health Care Reform and has taught Flexible Compensation rules and regulations as a certified industry instructor. She has delivered various multi-media presentations on a wide variety of topics associated with employee benefits, including legal and regulatory compliance, and ethical behavior. An accomplished researcher and writer, a quarterly compliance newsletter she authored for FBMC won the prestigious EBN (Employee Benefit News) i-COMM Award in 2009 for Best Training Program and again in 2012 for Best Print or Online Employee Newsletter; proposals she has written in response to Requests for Proposal (RFP) in 2017 and 2018 have been winning bids. She is trained as a Florida Governor’s Sterling Examiner and is currently a Sterling Judge; she also serves on the Florida Bar Grievance Committee for the Second Circuit.

Barry Munroe (A)

Sarah Tyson Alfano (A)

Katie Bohnett (A)


Off-Board Specialists

Kathy Winn, Public Health Care Chair

Linda Lee, Climate and Sustainability Chair

Jan Rubino, Lobby Corps

Danielle H. Irwin, Local Government Chair

Stuart Baker, Editor, Speakers' Bureau Chair

Linda Davis, Communications Chair